January House Projects

Since home improvement is still a goal in 2015, I thought I’d take a moment to plan out January’s projects.  I found this really helpful when we first moved in, plus it’s so much fun to look back on the progress you’ve made over time!  Since we’re keeping January really lean budget-wise, these are going to be relatively small/simple updates.  Onward!

  • Frost the pantry windows. I’ve been wanting to tackle this project from the day those doors showed up!  But so many steps had to happen first: hang the doors, paint the doors, scrape the glass, etc.  I’ve already purchased the frosting film–now it’s just a matter of taking the time to do it!  Cost: free since I already have the materials.
  • Finish the inside of the pantry.  Apparently it’s the pantry’s turn to be the belle of the ball!  This will involve adding the edging to the shelves, hanging the spice racks, and painting the floating shelf supports to be the same color as the wall (though truth be told, I’m not sure that one is going to happen quite yet).  Cost: Again, we’ve already got most of the materials, so 0-$8 (in case I need to buy a new paint brush)
  • Spray Paint metal stools: Last month I found these guys in the clearance section at target-woo!  While I loved the white, they just don’t quite look right up against our cream/beige island  & cabinets.  So I’m spray painting the legs an antique nickel-kind of like these but the color is more consistent and, in my opinion, higher-end (looking).  Cost: $10 (I’ve already got one can of spray paint but something tells me I may need a second for a clean, even coating).
  • Researching Light Fixtures & Door Knobs:After painting the last of the doors & trim in November, I realized that our downstairs is 95% updated with two exceptions: the lights that hang in the entry and hallway, and our hideous brass door knobs.  While I don’t want to pull the trigger this month, I do need to spend some time researching and finding the best deal on these babies.  Perhaps a February project? Cost: free, unless I find a too-good-to-pass-up kind of deal.

So there you have it!  I’m travelling for a week at the end of the month for work so these projects will still be plenty to keep me busy. Plus, $18 is significantly under our monthly “Home Improvement” budget, which means we’ll be able to put that money towards bigger projects down the road.  Finishing the pantry in and of itself will be a big weight off my shoulders and I’m eager to give the kitchen area in general a little love!  I’ll be sure to post pictures once the projects are complete 🙂

Leave a comment