Italy Planning!

As I shared before, we’re taking a trip to Italy this spring and as the date gets closer, I get more and more excited to go back!  While technically I’ve been to many of these sights, I am so eager to return–this time with Scott!

It’s funny-this trip is so different from Thailand.  It felt like the weeks/months leading up to Thailand were SO LONG, but Italy has snuck up on us quickly!  We had so much stuff to buy/gather for Thailand (cameras & accessories, travel gear, etc.); this round it seems like we’ve already got everything we need.  Thailand felt a little stressful because of the language barrier; I can speak enough Italian to get us by, so the whole thing feels much more laid back.  Don’t get me wrong, Thailand was the trip of a lifetime, but our trip to Italy is definitely going to be one for the books 🙂

In order to lean-in to the anticipation, I thought I’d share some of the fun we’ve got planned:

Stop # 1: Cinque Terre

While not QUITE as nice, our balcony will have a similar view!!

We’ll kick off our trip with an evening in Cinque Terre.  We’re staying in Vernazza, and since we won’t get in until late afternoon, we’ll probably just kick-back and enjoy some wine in a cute trattoria or our BALCONY 🙂  The next day we plan to hike through all five towns, stopping along the way for food, drink, gelato, and some sight seeing.  After a good night’s sleep we’ll have breakfast, explore some more, and hop on a train!

Stop # 2: Firenze

View from Piazale Michelangelo at Sunset

We don’t plan to spend much time in Florence, but we’ll certainly make the most of the time we’ve got!  The goal: see the main sights: the Duomo & Baptistery, the David & the Uffizi, Ponte Vechio and Piazale Michelangelo at sunset.  We also want to visit Scuola del Cuoio–a local leather school and shop–to buy some expertly-crafted leather goods.  We’ll arrive early afternoon and will stay the night; after a quick breakfast we’ll be on our way to the next stop…

Stop # 3: Venezia

St. Mark’s at night, after most people have gone to bed

This is quite possibly my favorite city in the entire world, even if it IS full of tourists during the day.  We’ll spend 2.5 days here, and while we’ll obviously see the big stuff (St. Mark’s, The Bell Tower, Doge Palace, & the Murano/Burano thing), we also want to hold a lot of time to just wander around and get lost.  We plan to do the bulk of our souvenir shopping here (hand blown glass, some artisan lace, and a Venetian mask to replace the one I left behind 9 years ago!!).  After we’re thoroughly exhausted from all of the walking, we’ll head to a sleepier city to relax.

Stop # 4: Siena

Overhead shot of my favorite wine-ing spot 😉

We’re going to spend less than 24 hours in Siena, but since it’s my SECOND favorite city in the world, it was kind of a must.  we’ll arrive early afternoon, and with the exception of seeing the main church & piazza, the only goal here is to chill.  Siena has some adorable shops, fun little streets to wander, and an amazing piazza to just sit out and people watch.  I vividly remember getting a bottle of wine with friends and just drinking the night away outside.  I hope to recreate this with Scott!  We’ll stay the night, then catch a train to the main attraction the following morning.

Stop # 5: Bologna

The Due Torri-where we hope to recreate a painting Scott had made for me! 🙂

This is the city that inspired the entire trip, which is odd, since Bologna isn’t typically thought of as a “Must-see” part of Italy.  Still, it’s where I studied abroad in college, and I can’t believe I am going back!  We’ll have almost 4 full days here, and since the sights only take about one, we’re going to have so much time to just wander and explore at a snail’s pace.  we’ve booked a “food” tour (the only tour of our entire trip) which will involve a day trip to Parma & Modena, but beyond that, our time is going to be completely unstructured.  I’ll take Scott to some of my fave places, and we’ll just snack and drink our days away!  I can’t wait to revisit the beautiful churches & pieces of art, to walk under the porticos, and to sit in Piazza Maggiore drinking cafe.

Then, we head home–with bellies full of wine & pasta, a bag full of keepsakes, a camera full of pictures, and hearts filled with happiness.  I’m so, so excited!

One thought on “Italy Planning!

  1. Ah I absolutely love Italy!! The weather, the food and the architecture are all GORGEOUS!!

Leave a comment